Barretts Champion of Champions



This new and prestigious event will take place at Ellis Park on Sunday 11 and 18 May starting at 09:00 both days.


The players that were invited are the club champions and runners up from those clubs that played either Bundes League or First League Section 1 last year.


“This inaugural event has started off with the support of the top players in the Province” said the President of the Association, Bruce Gray.  “We want to give our top players as much tournament play as possible leading up to Bundes league and senior Inter Provincial and the Champion of Champions, along with the open tournaments at Marks Park, West Rand, Southern Suburbs and our own, gives them a tournament a month, which is ideal.”


Bruce went on to say that “the involvement of Barretts is extremely gratifying as they have been associated with tennis in this country and Ellis Park in particular, for many years and we are delighted to have them sponsor this tournament.”


The Prince ball will be used throughout the tournament.


The top seed is Peter Calitz, who was undefeated in last years Bundes League and last week won the Marks Park Open. Damien Hume, who now has a world ranking after successfully campaigning late last year on the Futures Circuit, is the second seed.


Giovanni Vaglietti, just back from America, and Uys Jordaan seeded at three and four, will mount a stern challenge while Werner Knuppe and Danie Buys will ensure that the pressure is kept on the top seeds.


In the ladies event Tarryn Rudman, who recently represented South Africa, is the top seed. Tarryn will be looking to put behind her a disappointing Marks Park Open performance in the singles, but she did recover from that second round loss to win both the ladies and mixed doubles. Seeded to meet her in the final is Channelle Simmonds.


Players will play two matches on each of the two days using the Compass Draw to ensure that they all get the maximum amount of tennis. The first two rounds will be played on 11 May and the semi finals at 09:00 on 18 May followed by the finals, but not before 11:30.


This is an ideal opportunity for people to see the top players in the Province in action.