Top Players for TSA Junior Masters

Bloemfontein, South Africa – The best of the best will battle for over R80 000.00 in travel vouchers when the Tennis South Africa (TSA) Junior Masters starts in Bloemfontein tomorrow (Thursday).

The top eight boy and girl players in the under 12, 14, 16 age groups plus 5 boys and 4 girls in the under 18 age groups will battle over two days (Thursday and Friday) for title honours.

There will be four seeded players in the under 12, 14 and 16 age groups and two seed players in the under 18 age groups. A knock-out draw will be the order of play for the under 12, 14 and 16 age groups and the under 18 age groups will play a round robin. On Thursday there will be two rounds of singles with finals being played on Friday.

President of TSA, Gavin Crookes said that the newly announced TSA Masters was important for the development of the game. “We have a very healthy and strong junior structure within tennis in the country and this new tournament allows the best of our players to do battle against each other. With each player being ranked in the top 10 of their age-group, the competition promises to be tough and spectators will be in for a real treat of top tennis action.”

TSA also announced that a workshop will be held on Thursday evening for all the players in the Masters where experts in nutrition and doping would address the players and their coaches and parents.

The TSA Junior Masters will be played at the Free State Stadium. Play starts at 09h00 on Thursday and 09h00 on Friday. Entrance is free.

It was also confirmed that all matches in the TSA Masters will have live scoring and there would be live streaming of the girls and boys final of the Masters on Friday, with commentary provided by Mike Dunk from Game Set & Match. To access live scoring and live streaming go to

The player line up has been announced as follows and we congratulate our Gauteng Central players that have been selected. Good luck!


Under 12
1. Kholo Montsi (GN)
2. Owen Arends (WP)
3. Peter Scott (GC)
4. Sam Mcquirk (Bor)
Carl Roothman (Bol)
Tom Mchugh (Bol)
Connor Kruger (GN)
Dylan Salton (GE)

Under 14
1. Matthew Johnson (WP)
2. Philip Henning (FS)
3. Sipho Montsi (GN)
4. Marno Stander (WP)
Christiaan Worst (GN)
Justin Liebenberg (GC)
Kyle Johnson (GC)
Hugh Morgan (GC)

Under 16
1. Nikolai Manchev (KZN)
2. Lance-Pierre Du Toit (Bol)
3. Tim Dollman (WP)
4. Richard Thongoana (GN)
Jordan Sauer (GN)
Jandre’ Lessing (EP)
Michael Copeland (GC)
Hubert Badenhorst (FS)

Under 18
1. Jan Berry (FS)
2. Ebenhaeser Von Gericke (FS)
Gerrit Snyman (EP)
Christiaan Stofberg (FS)
Wesley Basson (GC)

Under 12
1. Lara Van Der Merwe (NWP)
2. Makayla Loubser (WP)
3. Delien Kleinhans (FS)
4. Cara O’Flaherty (GC)
Elanie Brand (NC)
Ashlee Andrew (GE)
Anique Engelbrecht (GC)
Gizelle Naude (FS)

Under 14
1. Corin De Waal (Bol)
2. Maja Gledic (GC)
3. Angela Georgieva (GC)
4. Kaylin Bouwer (EP)
Megan Lombardi (Bol)
Samantha Muller (GC)
Jessica Assenmacher (GC)
Alexis Tensfeldt (GC)

Under 16
1. Lee Barnard (GN)
2. Zani Barnard (GN)
3. Mila Hartig (GN)
4. Nicole Petchey (WP)
Maxine Bateman (KZN)
Jone Kruger (NWP)
Imaan Hassim (GC)
Ciney Bekker (Bol)

Under 18
1. Katie Poluta (WP)
2. Nelise Verster (FS)
Mandri Viljoen (Bol)
Kendal Gorlei (KZN)
Réze Opperman (EP)