SA Schools Team off to Wimbledon

Gauteng Central players with TSA President Gavin Crookes

Johannesburg, South Africa – On the eve of Wimbledon, the South African Schools Tennis team were awarded with their blazers and colours by Tennis South Africa President and acting CEO Gavin Crookes as well as the chairman of South African Schools Tennis David Jaquire. The award ceremony was held at a hotel close to O.R Tambo International Airport on Thursday afternoon. The team then jetted off to the United Kingdom for a two week tour which will see them play against a Scottish invitation team in Edinburgh and a British invitational team in Sutton. The team will also spend two days at the Wimbledon Tennis Championships.

Gauteng Central has the highest number of players out of all the provinces in this team. Congrats boys and girls – we are so proud of you!

1-Schools Team

Schools Team: Front row, from left to right: Marnich Hattingh (Pretoria-Noord), Cindy Dorrington (Rhenish Girls High), David Jaquire (Manager), Jenny Koster (Manager), Weyers Meintjes (Paul Roos Gimnasium) and Sarah Mayne (Epworth High School)

Middle row, from left to right: Hanro-Daniel van der Merwe (Paarl Boys High), Stevens Raul (Pretoria Boys High), Dylan Walters (St Stithians College), Michael Copeland (St Johns College), George Botha (Grey College), Kukutla Motlojoa (Grey College and Dana Phillips (Clarendon)

Back row, from left to right: Maja Gledic (St Marys Waverley), Angela Georgieva (Crawford College), Justin Cronje (Selborne College), Kaylin Bouwer (Pearson High School), Justin Liebenberg (St Stithians College), Nyathi Motlojoa (Grey College), Azner Louw (Monument High School) and Megan Lombardi (Rhenish Girls High)