Officials announced for Davis Cup Tie


Pretoria, South Africa – The International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Tennis South Africa (TSA) have named their officials for the upcoming Davis Cup by PNB Paribas tie between South Africa and Luxembourg.

The tie to be played at the Irene Country Club outside Pretoria from 4 – 6 March will be the start of the South African challenge to regain their spot in the Euro Africa Group 1 next year.

The Referee and ITF Representative at the Tie will be experienced umpire, Dima Leifman of Israel.

The two chair umpires, both from South Africa are Ephraim Motsiane (Katlehong, Gauteng East) and Tebogo Maleke (Soweto, Gauteng Central).

Mpho Makhoba (Attridgeville Gauteng North) has been named as Chief of Umpires and this is Makhoba’s first assignment after having obtained her International Chief of Umpire certification in October last year. Makhoba however has enormous Davis Cup experience having worked at several previous home ties.

Leifman will be making his first trip to South Africa. Leifman, a professional official on the international circuit has officiated at all four of the Grand Slams, Olympic and Commonwealth Games and is vastly experienced in officiating in Davis Cup competition.
Motsiane, a white badge official with the ITF started officiating in 1997. He has been chair umpire in the Davis Cup ties staged in South Africa against Hungary and Poland and has worked the lines at the 2010 Commonwealth Games and three Australian Open Championships.

Maleke will be making his Davis Cup debut after obtaining his White Badge in Cape Town in November 2015.

Programme for the tie:
Friday 4 March: 9.45am: Opening Ceremony. The first singles match will start at 10am with the second rubber following immediately thereafter.
Saturday 5 March: 12.00pm: Doubles Match
Sunday 6 March: 10am: First reverse singles match, followed by final singles match.

All the matches are played as the best of five sets until a result has been achieved.

Tickets to the Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Euro/Africa Zone Group 2 South Africa vs Luxembourg tie are available at R100.00 per person and at R250 for a season ticket (three day ticket) via and instore at Pick n Pay’s with Money Counters