SA to host the African Junior Championships

african junior team

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Tennis South Africa (TSA) jointly announced that the 39thAfrican Junior Championships would be hosted in South Africa,

The Championships will be played from Wednesday 9th March to Friday 18th March at the HPC at the University of Pretoria.

120 players from 28 countries are set to take to the hard courts to contest this year’s individual and team trophies in the 14 & Under and 16 & Under events.

Also up for grabs will be the all-important team trophy, which was won by Egypt in 2015. Egypt, who has already wrapped up the boys’ singles title at the recently contested 18 & Under will be facing stiff competition this year from hosts, South Africa, along with Tunisia which claimed the girls’ singles title of the 18 & Under event at home and Morocco.

Most of the players arrived over the weekend to acclimatise to the high altitude conditions in Pretoria. The girls 16 & Under event will be headed by Sada Nahimana of Burundi, who will be looking to win her third African Junior Championship title in as many years, after winning the 14 & Under titles in 2014 and 2015.

Yousef Khamis of Egypt, ranked 230 in the world junior rankings, heads the entry in the 16 & Under boys event. Following some strong performances in the Southern African Junior Championships held in January, the South Africans look like a dominant force in both the girls and boys 14 & Under events.

This year’s Championship will be taking on a new format with an extensive round robin stage followed by play-off draws. The event comes to an end with the finals on Friday 18th March.

Participating teams : South Africa, Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Benice, Botswana, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Egypt, Gabon, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Morocco, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

Congratulations to our Gauteng Central juniors who were selected for the team.


Girls 14 and Under

Lara van Der Merwe (NW)

Makayla Loubser (WP)

Delien Kleinhans (FS)

Rochelle Pienaar (Bol)

Boys 14 and Under

Kholo Montsi (GN)

Damien Nezar (SWD)

Connor Kruger (GN)

Andreas Scott (GC)

Girls 16 and Under

Corin De Waal (Bol)

Kaylin Bouwer (EP)

Maja Gledic (GC)

Angela Georgieva (GC)

Boys 16 and Under

Philip Henning (FS)

Justin Liebenberg (GC)

Christiaan Worst (GN)

Thando Longwe-Smit (WP)