ITF Digicall Futures F1 Seeds and Wildcards


The Digicall Futures 1 international tennis tournament which is being played at the Maties Tennis Club at the University Of Stellenbosch next week received a major boost when South Africa’s top ranked women player, Chanel Simmonds confirmed her entry.

Simmonds who is presently ranked 416 on the WTA world singles ranking was given a wildcard into the tournament by the tournament organisers and being the highest ranked player entered automatically was seeded one.

Zimbabwean Valeria Bhunu was announced as the second seed with Russian Margarita Lazareva and American Lauren Embree seeded three and four respectively.

Simmonds, a member of the South African Fed Cup team, is the only South African seed in the women’s draw.

Two South African men, Davis Cup team mates namely Lloyd Harris and Nikala Scholtz were seeded in the men’s draw. Scholtz like Simmonds received a wildcard into the tournament.

Harris is seeded two behind top seed Alessandro Bega of Italy whilst Scholtz is seeded three ahead of fourth seed Christoph Negritu of Germany.

The qualifying for the Digicall Futures 1 will take place this weekend 29-30 October. Sign in for the qualifying is at the Maties Tennis Club from 16h00 – 18h00 on Friday 28 October. Player must sign in personally for qualifying.

The main draw will be played from Monday 31 October with the final scheduled for Sunday 6 November.

The Digicall Futures 1 is the first of three back to back international men’s and women’s tournaments being played in Stellenbosch.

The seeds are;


Alessandro Bega (ITA)
Lloyd Harris (RSA)
Nikala Scholtz (RSA)
Christoph Negritu (GER)
Boy Westerhof (NED)
Dekel Bar (ISR)
Gabor Borsos (HUN)
Peter Goldsteiner (AUT)

Chanel Simmonds (RSA)
Valeria Bhunu (ZIM)
Margarita Lazareva (RUS)
Lauren Embree (USA)
Katharina Hering (GER)
Jaeda Daniel (USA)
Erika Vogelsang (NED)
Julyette Steur (GER)
The Wild cards are:


Nik Scholtz (RSA)
Bertus Kruger (RSA)
Sipho Montsi (RSA)

Chanel Simonds (RSA)
Amelie Boy (MRI)

The men’s fourth wild card will be allocated after qualifying sign-in on Friday. Th two remaining women wild cards will also be allocated after qualifying sign-in on Friday.