Raven and JL in 2017 Mylan World TeamTennis

The 2017 Mylan World TeamTennis season runs from 16 July to 2 Aug with the top two teams advancing to the Finals at the Omni La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, California on Saturday 5 August. This is the league’s 42nd season and there are two South Africans involved this year.

Raven Klaasen is part of the San Diego Aviators for the 6th season and John-Laffnie de Jager is coach of the Springfield Lasers for the 11th year in a row, marking 18th Mylan WTT season overall. JL was named WTT Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season in 2010, and his third award in four seasons. He was also WTT Coach of the Year in 2007, leading the Lasers to a 13-1 regular season record in his first year as coach.

The league was co-founded in the 1970s by Billie Jean King and Larry King, and first hit the courts in 1974 for a five-year run. After a short hiatus, the League returned in 1981 and has been a highlight of the annual U.S. tennis calendar. Since the League’s debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played WTT including Pete Sampras, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Stefanie Graf, Bob and Mike Bryan, Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert.

In 2015, Mylan WTT joined the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB as only the 5th U.S. pro sports league to reach the 40 season milestone. In March 2017, WTT team owners Mark Ein (Washington Kastles) and Fred Luddy (San Diego Aviators) purchased majority ownership of World TeamTennis from league co-founder Billie Jean King who will remain involved as a minority owner of the league and majority owner of the
Philadelphia Freedoms franchise.

To learn more about the Mylan WTT click here