Laver Cup

The Laver Cup which was created to honour the greatest player of the twentieth century, Rod Laver, will pit six top European players against their counterparts from the rest of The World. Held annually (except for Olympic years), the tournament will occur two weeks after the US Open, with the location rotating. There will be 12 matches played over three days (nine singles and three doubles), with the number of points awarded for victories increasing each day. Each player will take the court once or twice for singles, with at least four of the six taking part in doubles. All matches will be played as best-of-three, with a 10-point tiebreaker if play goes to a third set.

The first Laver Cup will be held in Europe, at the O2 arena Prague from 22 – 24 September 2017. The location will rotate between Europe and the rest of the world cities each year.

Former rivals Björn Borg of Sweden (Europe) and John McEnroe of the United States (World team) will serve as captains for the first three editions.

Europe team:

Rafael Nadal
Roger Federer
Marin Cilic
Dominic Thiem
Tomas Berdych
Alexander Zverev

World team:

John Isner
Jack Sock
Nick Kyrgios
Sam Querrey
Juan Martin Del Potro
Denis Shapovalov