SA Seniors at the ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships in Florida


One-hundred and 23 teams from 31 nations are set to take part in next week’s ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships in Lake Nona, Florida on 8-13 October.

The tournament, returning to Florida having last been held in the state three years ago, will take place at the impressive new USTA National Campus, and is set for several firsts – with the Virgin Islands due to take part in international Seniors competition for the first time, and the men’s 85 cup also set to debut at this year’s event.
Nine cups will take place across the 65-85 age categories, with 32 clay courts in use for the following events: Brittania Cup (Men’s 65), Kitty Godfree Cup (W65), Althea Gibson Cup (W70), Jack Crawford Cup (M70), Bitsy Grant (M75), Queens Cup (W75), Gardner Mulloy Cup (M80), Doris Hart Cup (W80) and the inaugural Men’s 85 Team Cup.
Seventy-two men’s teams and 51 women’s teams will bid for glory for their nations, with the Brittania Cup set to be the most frenetic with 22 men’s teams, including first-time participants Virgin Islands, bidding to take a crown that has been won by Spain’s men’s 65 team for the last four years in a row.
Spain hasn’t entered a team in the men’s 65 competition this year, but will bid to win the men’s 70s competition for the first time. They will compete amongst a Jack Crawford Cup field that also includes the likes of 2016 champions Netherlands and features a double dose of African representation in the form of South Africa and Zimbabwe.
Host nation USA has entered a team in all nine cups, joining Argentina, Australia, Canada and Great Britain as the only other nations to do so.
The hosts will be hoping to build on their success in last year’s Super Seniors World Championships in Umag, Croatia, when they took home three titles – including the Queen’s Cup, Doris Hart Cup and Gardnar Mulloy Cup.
The Americans have been particularly dominant in the women’s 75 competition, winning the title in 12 of the 15 editions of the event – including for the last seven consecutive years.
The Team Championships will be followed by the Super-Seniors World Individual Championships, which takes place on 14-21 October and sees players battle it out for individual glory.
French players took the headlines at last year’s individual event in Umag, with Bruno Renoult, Henri Crutchet, and Gail Benedetti all becoming world champions in the men’s 65, men’s 85 and women’s 70 singles events respectively.
The ITF Seniors website will feature daily coverage and photos from the ITF Super-Seniors World Championships during the event on 8-21 October.
source: ITF Seniors

We wish our SA teams bon voyage and every success in the tournament. Players representing South Africa are –


Bitsy Grant Cup (M75):
Giulio Salottolo (KZN)
George Rough (GE) Cpt
Willie Lubbe (GN)
Garnett Wicomb (EDEN)

Jack Crawford Cup (M70):
Mike Pilot (GC) Cpt
Raj Naganna (KZN)
Andre van Staden (GN)
Gert Meyer (NWP)


Queen’s Cup (W75):
Jackie Zylstra (KZN)
Kathy Nevay (GE) Cpt
Elsie Goosen (GN)
Reiko Murase (GC)

Althea Gibson Cup (W70):
Petro Kruger (BOL)
Elmarie Lategan (EDEN) Cpt
Danilla Whelpton (GN)
Yvonne Fichardt (WP)

Kitty Godfree Cup (W65):
Carine Puckrin (GN)
Tamzon du Plessis (GN) Cpt
June Smith (EDEN)
Shirley Engers (WP)