Growthpoint Junior Masters in Potch

The cream of South African junior tennis will battle for Masters honours in Potchefstroom this coming weekend.
The Growthpoint Junior Masters will be played from Friday 13 October to Sunday 15 October at the Riaan Venter Tennis Academy on the University of NWP-PUKKE Campus.
The tournament will be for the top boys and girls according to the national Tennis South Africa (TSA) rankings in the under 12, 14, 16 and 18 age groups. In the under 12 and 14 age groups, there will be 12 direct acceptances, with 4 TSA invitational spots. In the under 16 and 18 age groups, there will be 6 direct acceptances, with 2 TSA invitational spots.
The singles only event will be played on a round-robin basis for Friday and Saturday morning, with the semi-finals on Saturday afternoon and finals on Sunday morning.
All eyes will be on top seed in the boys’ under 18, Philip Henning of Bloemfontein. The 16-year-old is one of the brightest prospects in South African tennis and is the reigning 2017 TSA Junior Nationals champion. The Grey College learner recently won back-to-back Curro Junior ITF tournaments in Stellenbosch.
In the girls’ under 18, tournament favourite is Gauteng Central’s Maja Gledic who reached the TSA Junior Nationals finals earlier this year. Gledic, won The Wanderers Junior ITF in July this year.
Favoured in the girls’ under 16 is Myah Petchey of Western Province. Petchey won her first ITF title at the same venue as the Growthpoint Junior Masters earlier this year, so Potchefstroom is a happy hunting ground for the Capetonian. In the same age group, boys’ top seed is ITF/CAT African Junior Champion, Pierre Malan, also of Western Province. Click here for the full draws.  The full list of players who have qualified are as follows;
Under 12
Group 1
1-Jordan Georgiev (GC)
Cornel Liebenberg (FS)
Caleb Fyvie (KZN)
Drikus De Jager (EDEN)
Group 2
2-John Coetzee (BOL)
Joshua Kleynhans (BOR)
Brandon Rieseberg (EP)
Joshua Tromp (GC)
Group 3
3-Kyle Erwee (GN)
Connor Doig (GC)
Jake Downie (BOL)
Leo Matthysen (WP)
Group 4
4-Guy Vorwerk (KZN)
Imaad Lorgat (WP)
Jandre Viljoen (GN)
Franswillem Van der Merwe (BOL)
Under 14
Group 1
1-Devin Badenhorst (GN)
Alexander Edley (KZN)
Marnus Oosthuizen (EDEN)
Gerard Henning (FS)
Group 2
2-Connor Kruger (GN)
Daniel Wessels (EDEN)
Anro Nel (BOL)
Mikaeel Woodman (WP)
Group 3
3-Andreas Scott (GC)
Luc Koenig (KZN)
James Edley (KZN)
Rohan Loubser (WP)
Group 4
4-Carl Roothman (BOL)
Stephan Viljoen (NC)
William Zulch (BOL)
Jordan Gancho (GN)
Under 16
Group 1
1-Pierre Malan (WP)
Joubert Klopper (FS)
Kade Mindry (KZN)
Robbie Arends (WP)
Group 2
2-Charl Morgan (GC)
Kholo Montsi (GN)
Victor Putter (GN)
Alec Beckley (GC)
Under 18
Group 1
1-Philip Henning (FS)
Gerhard Swart (GN)
Siphos Montsi (GN)
Marno Stander (WP)
Group 2
2-Christiaan Worst (GN)
Justin Liebenberg (GC)
Andre Snyman (GN)
Ryan Little (BOR)
Under 12
Group 1
1-Carle Botha (GN)
Hailey Troup (WP)
Korona Rugara (GC)
Leane Engelbrecht (EP)
Group 2
2-Nadia Gouws (GN)
Janke Viljoen (BOL)
Kaitlyn Ramduth (KZN)
Wilmien Voz (BOL)
Group 3
3-Anke Heyns (FS)
Anna Wise (KZN)
Leila Nel (EP)
Lilitha Ndungane (GC)
Group 4
4-Carli Kruger (FS)
Mikayla Faure (GN)
MariLouise Van Zyl (NWP)
Tayla Wilmot (GE)
Under 14
Group 1
1-Kelly Arends (WP)
Polia Gizdova (GC)
Cayline Le Grange (FS)
Lenka Steenkamp (BOL)
Group 2
2-Christine Kruger (FS)
Suzanie Pretorius (FS)
Anelma Grobler (BOL)
Sarah Millard (GC)
Group 3
3-Kylie Midorp (KZN)
Line Greyling (FS)
Mikayla Plitt (GE)
Naledi Manyube (EDEN)
Group 4
4-Mienke Viljoen (BOL)
Ine Lamprecht (GN)
Kristen Fichardt (FS)
Heike Janse Van Vuuren (EDEN)
Under 16
Group 1
1-Myah Petchey (WP)
Linge Steenkamp (FS)
Megan Basson (GC)
Ntokozo Zungu (GC)
Group 2
2-Delien Kleinhans (FS)
Marne Dercksen (FS)
Jessica Portwig (GC)
Bianca Wolmarans (WP)
Under 18
Group 1
1-Maja Gledic (GC)
Lize-Alet Morkel (BOL)
Megan Lombardi (BOL)
Samantha Muller (GC)
Group 2
2-Kaylin Bouwer (EP)
Angela Georgieva (GC)
Corin De Waal (BOL)
Alexis Tensfeldt (GC)rovince. Click here for the full draws