TSA announce 2018 Junior National Squads


TSA has announced the new Junior National Squads for 2018. The announcement was made at the players dinner at the Growthpoint Junior Masters in Potchefstroom on Saturday evening.
The squads are divided into two focus areas – based on age:
National Squads for the U14, U16 & U18 age groups: 10 players per gender.
High Performance Development Squads for the U12 age group: 22 players per gender.
TSA Squads are not national teams – rather they are an identified group of players who will benefit from centralised high-performance initiatives & training camps. Furthermore, the door is not closed on players not selected – TSA will review the squads in six months time.
The full squads (in alphabetical order by surname):
Under 12: 
Luke Bosman
Junior Chigariro
Johan Coetzee
Van Zyl Del Port
Willem de Waal
Jean du Toit
Lian du Toit
Stephan du Plooy
Jordan Georgiev
Pieter Kotze
Heinrich Krugmann
Johan Labuschange
Leo Matthysen
Dylan Morgan
Anathi Nofotyo
Divan Prinsloo
Ben Scholtz
Thando Tshili
Boitshepo Maake
Christiaan Viljoen
Guy Vorwerk
Matthew Wilson
Under 14:
Devin Badenhorst
John Coetzee
Kyle Erwee
Gerard Henning
Cornel Liebenberg
Imaad Lorgat
Rohan Loubser
Anro Nel
Marnus Oosthuizen
Stuart Van der Merwe
Under 16:
Luc Koenig
Luan Krige
Connor Kruger
Kholo Montsi
Damien Nezar
Carl Roothman
Andreas Scott
Dylan Salton
Daniel Wessels
Mikaeel Woodman
Under 18:
Robbie Arends
Philip Henning
Joubert Klopper
Justin Liebenberg
Thando Longwe-Smit
Pierre Malan
Charl Morgan
Victor Putter
Gerhardt Swart
Christiaan Worst
Under 12:
Anja Bezuidenhout
Ashtyn Cason
Danielle Chapman
Luise Janse Van Rensburg
Celina Joseph
Carli Kruger
Donna Le Roux
Owethu Makhanya
Hanmare McAslin
Chante Mulder
Emma Olsen
Kaitlyn Rumduth
Korona Rugara
Nina Schimper
Jani Steyn
Alma Van Schalkwyk
Corne Van Schalkwyk
Rune Van Wyk
Mari-Louse Van Zyl
Amlia Van Zyl
Rebecca Widan
Nobuhle Zungu
Under 14:
Carle Botha
Gabriella Broadfoot
Nadia Gouws
Line Greyling
Onke Heyns
Heike Janse Van Vuuren
Naledi Manyube
Lilitha Ndungane
Suzanie Pretorius
Janke Viljoen
Under 16:
Kelly Arends
Megan Basson
Delien Kleinhans
Christine Kruger
Makayla Loubser
Jessica Portwig
Arista Siebrits
Lara Van der Merwe
Mienke Viljoen
Ntokozo Zungu
Under 18: 
Kaylin Bouwer
Marne Dercksen
Maja Gledic
Tamsin Hart
Neo Mafuyeka
Lize-Alet Morkel
Lungile Ntuli
Myah Petchey
Linge Steenkamp
Bianca Wolmarans
The national selectors followed a clear process for selecting the squads:
– The TSA selection criteria framework (https://www.filepicker.io/api/file/Z7afgYbjQMiXZlOwIqfS) was used as guide for the process.
– A short-list of around 20-30 players was identified per age group & gender.
– The short-list was based on the players 2018 age group and their TSA ranking.
– TSA’s transformation policy was also taken into account.
– Player performance matrices were drafted for each short-listed player.
– Covering win/loss records, tournament performances etc.
– Critically  – It was decided early on in the process that final squads would be a balance of both first year and second year players in each age group. This was to ensure continuity from 2018 to 2019.