Junior National team coaches announced


Tennis South Africa is pleased to announce the coaches selected to lead our national age group teams, for the 2018 and 2019 calendar years – specifically:

U/12 Age Group
Keith Phathizwe Mabuza (Head Coach) Middelburg, MP
Amos Magagula (Assistant Coach) Polokwane, LIM
Jeanna Schmidt (Assistant Coach) Pretoria, GAU
U/14 Age Group
M.C. Olivier (Head Coach) Bloemfontein, FS
Ngwakwana Asnath Sebati (Assistant Coach) Rondebosch, WC
Jean-Pierre de Lange (Assistant Coach) Roodepoort, GAU
U/16 Age Group
Benjamin Janse van Rensburg (Head Coach) Sunninghill, GAU
Siyabulela Nkachela (Assistant Coach) Heuwelsig, GAU
Liza-Mari Olivier (Assistant Coach) Shweizer-Reneke, NW

The U18 national teams will be coached by the Davis Cup Captain (boys) and Fed Cup Captain (girls), respectively.

Each head coach will take overall responsibility for both boys and girls in the relevant age group, with each of the assistant coaches focusing on either boys or girls in that age group. Not all coaches will travel on all age group tours, they may be rotated based on the number of players travelling, the profile of the event etc.

This announcement follows a comprehensive selection process, in which TSA invited suitably qualified persons, who are in good standing with the Federation, to apply for the position of either Junior National Team Head Coach OR Assistant Coach, for the under 12, Under 14 and U16 national team age groups.

A huge number of applications were received for the roles and the applicants were then reduced to a short-list. This short-list was then interviewed by a panel consisting of TSA staff (high performance manager, coaches manager and the high performance co-ordinator), as well as a number of experienced coaches, with extensive touring team experience.