Gauteng Central defend their SA High Schools Title

The talent on display at the recently completed Tennis South Africa High Schools Inter provincial tournament was “very encouraging” according to Fed Cup Captain, Rene Plant.
South Africa’s premier high school tournament ended on Monday, at the Groenkloof Tennis Stadium in Pretoria. The tournament, played from the 27-30 April, was divided into two age groups – under 15 and under 19.
In the under 19 tournament, Gauteng Central defended their title and were once again victorious by beating Gauteng North 25-12 . Meanwhile, the under 15 tournament was won by KwaZulu-Natal who beat Western Province 27-9 in their final.
South African Fed Cup Captain, Plant, visited the tournament and was impressed: “I think this tournament plays a vital part of the development of tennis in the country. Tennis is such an individual sport and when the juniors get a chance to play in a team competition it makes the game so much more fun. The vibe at the courts was wonderful and the talent on display was encouraging for the future of South African tennis”.
Plant, who was a team manager for many years for the Gauteng Central side and is presently Head Of Tennis at St. Mary’s School Waverley, addressed the teams and reminded them of the importance of school tennis and enjoying what the game had to offer. She also encouraged the players “to be the best tennis players they can be” and to promote the game amongst their friends.
Following the conclusion of the event, a South African schools team was selected in three age groups, under 15, under 17 and under 19.
The teams announced, in alphabetical order, are as follows;
Under 19:
Boys: Gerhard Bekker (Gauteng North); Sebastian Buxman (Gauteng Central); Liam Day (Gauteng East); Chao-Hong Peng (Gauteng Central); Marno Stander (Western Province); Gerhard Swart (Gauteng North); Sachin Thirboan (KZN).
Girls: Kaylin Bouwer (Eastern Cape ); Ester De Kock (North West Province); Amukelani Mokone (Gauteng Central); Dana Phillips (Eastern Cape); Isabella Sereo (Gauteng East); Kiara Wakeford (Northern Cape).
Under 17:
Boys: Alec Beckley (Gauteng Central); Kyler Hugo (Western Province); Kade Mindry (KZN); Jahar Persad (KZN); Leander Petersen (Eden); Joseph Townes (Eastern Cape); Daniel Wessels (Eden).
Girls: Maretha Burger (Western Cape Cavaliers); Courtney Fyvie (KZN); Carmen Fichardt (Free State); Tamsin Hart (Gauteng Central); Neo Mafuyeka (Gauteng Central); Linge Steenkamp (Free State); Sarah Millard (Gauteng Central); Ntokoza Zungu (Gauteng Central).
Under 15:
Boys: Alex Edley (KZN); James Edley (KZN); Jordan Gancho (Gauteng North); Hanza Kana (Northern Cape); Damian Muller (Eden); Arno Nel (Western Cape Cavaliers); Lwazi Ngwenya (Gauteng Central); SP Viljoen (Northern Cape).
Girls: Jade Benting (Western Province); Kristen Fichardt (Free State); Jamie Jones (KZN); Naledi Manyube (Eden); Lente Taljaard (Eastern Cape Elephants); Leigh van Zyl (Western Cape Cavaliers); Marjuzel Venter (Northern Cape); Nerine van der Walt (Western Province).
Reserves for all age groups:
Boys: Jason Schimper (Free State); Victor Putter (Gauteng North); Charl van Heerden (Free State); William Zulch (Western Cape Cavaliers).
Girls: Bernice Bezuidenhout (Eden); Anja de Beer (Eastern Cape Elephants); Christel de Kock (North West Province); Divina Pillay (Eastern Cape); Jo-Ane Verhoef (Gauteng North).

Photo L-R: Alec Beckley (Linden HS); Kevin Dlamini (KES); Amukelani Mokone (St Mary’s Waverley); Neo Mafuyeka (St Mary’s Waverley); Michael Lowings (St David Marist); Bradley Milton (St Johns College); Chao-Hong Peng (Hyde Park HS); Sebastian Buxman (St Davids Marist); Nina Patience (St Mary’s Waverley); Jared Robinson (Coach – St Stithians College); Tamsin Heart (St Mary’s Waverely); Ntokoza Zungu (Mondeor HS); Hayley Tseun (Roedean School for Girls).