Super Seniors to do battle in Gauteng


Super Senior tennis players have started arriving in Johannesburg for next week’s Growthpoint Inter Provincial Seniors, to be played from Monday, 21 May 2018 to Friday, 25 May 2018.
The team competition will be played in Randburg, Johannesburg at the Boskruin and Fairlands Tennis Clubs. The five day tournament is contested across the 65, 70 and 75 age groups.
Growthpoint Properties extended its support of tennis in the country by becoming the official headline partner of seniors’ tennis in March this year. Growthpoint was unveiled as the headline sponsor of Tennis South Africa (TSA) in July 2017, with the objective of growing the foundations of the sport in South Africa – especially at grassroots level. This sponsorship initially covered junior tournaments, clubs and the transformation and development space.
The first seniors (previously veterans) tournament held, after Growthpoint agreed to fund the seniors fraternity, was the all-important Growthpoint Senior Nationals held in Bloemfontein in March. Following the Senior Nationals was the Growthpoint Inter Provincial Seniors played in Boland in April.
Sharon van der Schyff, Seniors Co-Coordinator for TSA said that the Growthpoint Super Seniors Inter-provincial tournament bears testimony to the fact that tennis is a game for life, “We have participants who are aged from 65 to 80+ years and are just as competitive and determined as they were as juniors. Many have represented South Africa in the annual ITF Super Seniors World Team Championships, held at various venues around the world, on many occasions and some have achieved World Titles, in the Individual World Championships, as well.”
Notable players partaking in the event are Gauteng Central’s Frank Briscoe and Oscar Marino, who have done exceptionally well on the international ITF Seniors Circuit, as well as Kobus de la Port of Gauteng North.
Defending champions are: Eden (65A age group), Eden (65B), Kwa-Zulu Natal (70A), North West (70B), Western Province (75).
Players from seven provinces have confirmed their entries for the tournament.