Kevin Anderson named President of ATP Player Council


South African tennis ace Kevin Anderson has been named as President of the ATP Player Council. Anderson, a former world no 5, had previously served as the council’s Vice-President.

The governing body of the men’s professional tennis also announced that four new players have been elected to the ATP Player Council – Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada), Jeremy Chardy (France), John Millman (Australia) and Andy Murray (Great Britain). The quartet was elected by the existing members of the ATP Player Council to fill the roles vacated following the resignations of Novak Djokovic, John Isner, Vasek Pospisil and Sam Querrey.

The current ATP Player Council:
1-50 singles: Kevin Anderson (President), Felix Auger-Aliassime, Johan Millman, Rafael Nadal
51-100 singles: Jeremy Chardy, Yen-Hsun Lu
1-100 doubles: Jurgen Melzer, Bruno Soares
At large: Roger Federer, Andy Murray
Alumni Representative: Colin Dowdeswell
Coach Representative: Brad Stine

Congratulations Kevin!